EU: 19 countries call for new anti-trust rules
EU: 19 countries call for new anti-trust rules

In European Union, 19 countries have proposed for new anti-trust rules to facilitate emergence of European industrial giants able to face fierce competition from US and China.

After a ministerial meeting on 18 Dec., the countries called for new political impetus to ensure European industry remains competitive on a global level.

The proposals will be made to European Commission (EC) that will be nominated after EU elections in May 2019.

One of the main ideas is identification of possible evolutions of anti-trust rules to better take into account international markets and competition in merger analysis.

The statement was signed by France, Austria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, etc.